‘What I was trying to say …’

Republican National Committee chairman Michael Steele dissed Rush Limbaugh on a CNN program, and then offered this explanation later:

“I went back at that tape and I realized words that I said weren’t what I was thinking,” Steele said. “It was one of those things where I thinking I was saying one thing, and it came out differently. What I was trying to say was a lot of people … want to make Rush the scapegoat, the bogeyman, and he’s not.”

“I’m not going to engage these guys and sit back and provide them the popcorn for a fight between me and Rush Limbaugh,” Steele added. “No such thing is going to happen. … I wasn’t trying to slam him or anything.”

Say what? The words you said “weren’t what I was thinking”? How does that happen?

Steele does not have a backbone of steel. It’s closer to jelly. He comes across as trying to please the mainstream media as well as Obama backers instead of standing up for what the Republican Party used to stand for. It’s not a pretty sight.

Leave a Reply

