More on public education

Voddie Baucham posted this recently about public education (emphases mine):

Education is discipleship; whomever we allow to educate our children is discipling our children.  “A disciple is not above his teacher, but everyone when he is fully trained will be like his teacher” (Luke 6:40 ESV). 

If I knew for a fact the school down the street could ensure better test scores for my children, I still wouldn’t give them my children!  I am commanded to bring my children up in the nurture and instruction of the Lord (Eph. 6:4), and to do so by teaching them God’s statutes when I sit in my house, when I lie down, when I rise up, and when I walk along the way (Deut. 6:7).  I am also admonished not to place myself, or by extension my children, under false teaching (Col. 2:8), or to expose them to teaching that undermines God’s Law (Matt. 5:17-20).  Instead, I must teach them to “take every thought captive” (2 Cor. 10:5), to refuse to be “conformed to the pattern of this world” (Rom. 12:2), and meditate on God’s Law day and night (Ps. 1:2). 

Yes, the academic argument is a potent one.  However, it pales in comparison to the biblical/theological argument for Christian discipleship through education.  Still, one wonders how any parent who truly loves his or her child and wants the ‘best’ for them could look at a study like this and still drop them off at the local government indoctrination center later this month.  But anyone who has been engaged in this discussion longer than a few days knows exactly what the answer to this charge will be… “OUR SCHOOLS ARE DIFFERENT!” (I even heard this argument from a woman in a school district in Georgia that had lost it’s accreditation!)

Parents do love their children.  Unfortunately, many parents are simply misinformed, and quite inert when it comes to the education question.  Prayerfully, studies like the “Progress Report” and updates like “The Continuing Collapse” will open a few more eyes.  In fact, I have met and/or corresponded with at least half a dozen families this summer who decided to leave government schools as a result of information they have received from these and other sources.  It seems there are some minds ready to “unplug from the Matrix” after all.

The study he refers to in the third paragraph is here.

3 thoughts on “More on public education

  1. That’s all fine and dandy until the kiddies find out that god doesn’t believe in the second law of thermodynamics. Then what do you have, a wagon full of Amish mechanics, they mean well but they can’t fix anything.

  2. And it appears from Scripture that God ultimately doesn’t care how good of a mechanic you are.

Leave a Reply

